Tim

Comics That Blew My Mind

In Comics, General on 17 April, 2009 at 11:09 pm

I haven’t completely forgotten about comics, don’t worry.  I’ve just been overwhelmed by all the F1 news, both on and off the track for the last few weeks.

I’ll get back to my early influences, and my thoughts on comics in general shortly, but in the meantime, I am also going to skip back and forth in my personal romance with comics and mention comics, authors, artists and events that influenced me in one way or another, and how they continue to affect my current reading list.

The first book that I have decided to write about is Bryan Talbot’s The Adventures of Luther Arkwright.  I chose this one as I think it is a real “hidden gem” that is mentioned as much as it should be.

Others like Alan Moore’s work on The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen and Watchmen, or Neil Gaiman’s Sandman have had plenty of high-profile articles and books written about them and I firmly believe that The Adventures of Luther Arkwright is of the same quality, if not even more important.

Future articles on authors, artists, characters, etc., will hopefully include the following:

Alan Moore (For Watchmen – with Dave Gibbons; and The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen – with Kevin O’Neill; possibly also Lost Girls – with Melinda Gebbie)

Neil Gaimain (Primarily for Sandman, but also for Neverwhere and Good Omens – with Terry Pratchett)

Garth Ennis (For Hellblazer and Preacher – both with Steve Dillon)

Grant Morrison (Primarily: Arkham Asylum, New X-Men, All-Star Superman, The Invisibles and Seven Soldiers; there is a lot more)

Warren Ellis (For The Authority, Planetary, Freakangels, Fell, Nextwave – Agents of H.A.T.E., and Thunderbolts)

Ian Edgington (Primarily for Scarlet Traces and The Red Seas, but also hundreds of stories in 2000AD and other anthologies)

I hope you will enjoy reading the posts, forgive my lesser talent at crafting words, and hopefully discover a story that piques your interest enough to look for it in a bookstore or online, and maybe try it out.

The posts will have links to further reading, authors and artists websites where available, and pictures if permitted.  Would you like links to Amazon or Play.com or Waterstones?  Let me know your preferences… I will try to accommodate them.

I realise that much of my interpretation of these stories and authors may be different to other readers, as we all look for a take different things in our stories, I would be interested in hearing your views, but not if they just consist of “It’s crap!” or “Comics should be for kids, you sicko!”.  You can however say, “It’s too weird for me,” or “I didn’t like the artwork,” or “I can’t relate to that genre/character/setting,” or even “I don’t get it” – as long you you explain what in particular confused you, I will do my best to give you my interpretation.

I would ask that you not give away any spoilers to those who might not have read it yet.  I will try to do the same.

I hope you enjoy the ride!

Current status: Friday, 17th of April, 2009 – Halfway through the pre-amble on The Adventures of Luther Arkwright

Leave a Reply

